pipe on air cleaner

Post it here, if it doesn't fit any of the above.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

miketea
80-90 Mem No: 12238

pipe on air cleaner

Post by miketea »

Hi All,
This is my first time on here so apologies for any gaffs. I recently replaced the air filter on the engine of my 1990 1.7 D HiTop It occurred to me that there should be some form of pipework connecting the engine breather to the plastic air scoop that is fitted into the air vent on the rear of the vehicle. Any one know if my hunch is right or not.
1990 1.7d Hitop 4 speed

pirate-pete
80-90 Mem No: 7945

Re: pipe on air cleaner

Post by pirate-pete »

The snorkel pipe which leads from the air intakes on the rear outside of the van should be connected to the air filter housing by a hose.

My van has been converted from 1.6d to a 1.9 tdi so the original air filter will not fit. Instead they put in an aftermarket cone filter which is not connected to the snorkel pipe and just takes air from the engine compartment. If that was the case with yours you would probably realised when you bought your air filter as it would not have been standard.

I take it by engine breather you mean the air filter housing. What I think of as the breather is the hose leading from the crankcase to the rocker cover. This also sometime feeds into the air filter housing but I'm not sure of the routing on a 1.7d. If you did mean this breather then it won't connect directly to the snorkel pipe but to somewhere on the intake nearer the filter.
1983 Westy Joker HighTop, 1Z TDI Conversion

miketea

Post by miketea »

Hi,