filters for t25 1985 1900 petrol VW karisma

Post it here, if it doesn't fit any of the above.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

dubwright
80-90 Mem No: 0

filters for t25 1985 1900 petrol VW karisma

Post by dubwright »

Hi there please help, I have recently bought a 1985 T25 1900 petrol VW karisma. i am looking for filters, parts etc and am lost in a minefield of abbreviations! how do I know if my van is a 1900 WBX or NA? or... CU, CT,DF or DG engine code? she is in for a service soon so time is short to find the bits!
on the plus side iI am just back from an amazing trouble free trip to the west coast wild camping, bliss! but just near home she started spluttering and missfiring, hence the service! hopefully someone can help a complete novice! thanks...
T25 karisma Camper. 1900 petrol DG 1985. Deb

Aidan
Trader
80-90 Mem No: 742

Re: filters for t25 1985 1900 petrol VW karisma

Post by Aidan »

ok don't panic it'll be a DG, check to see if the white build sticker is still present, knee high under the steering wheel, if it is then the engine code is there and will confirm, your V5 will state 1915cc Petrol, it's a WBX, that's waterboxer, ie a flat four with water cooling - you have a radiator at the front behind the two grills ?

dubwright

Post by dubwright »

hi Aiden, thanks for your reply! I think its air cooled though,as there is no place to fill a radiator at the front...tho..there may be at the back!! jee what a novice eh! will have a look when i get home, thanks!

dubwright

Post by dubwright »

hi aiden, I couldnt find the stickeron the steering column, or engine number on the engine, I looked in all the places I could find suggested on the forum. I did discover it is a 2E carb tho, so after looking up wikipedia i think it is a DG! thanks for your help, deb

Aidan
Trader
80-90 Mem No: 742

Post by Aidan »

two grills = water cooled, one grill = Aircooled, top up tank is at the back, you need to get a manual, enjoy :D

ghost123uk