Spare wheel carrier

All things round and their alignment to your direction of travel

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Omegaman
80-90 Mem No: 14437

Spare wheel carrier

Post by Omegaman »

Hello all,

This might sound a bit of a noddy question but I am new to T25's.

last night I swapped my spare wheel for one that was fitted (which I think has a slightly wider tyre but is labelled 185 R14 the same as the other steel wheels) and now the replaced tyre wheel won't go up into the spare wheel carrier under the cab, so having a look at the carrier it looks bent (looks perfectly formed - not damaged) at the back and there is a box which is stopping the wheel going up. Now I noticed the other day when I checked the spare wheel (now fitted) that it was difficult to put back up then.

Therefore the questions are as follows: -

1. Has anyone else had issues putting standard wheels inside the carrier
2. Is the upwardly raised surface to the rear of the carrier standard?
3. Can anyone show me what their carrier looks like? I can only find small images which don't give me the idea online.

I will try and get pictures up to explain better. but thank you in advance

marlinowner
80-90 Mem No: 13646

Re: Spare wheel carrier

Post by marlinowner »

If you look on eBay there are a couple for sale with pictures. I have a 195r14 tyre which fits in carrier OK. There is a square box over the gear linkage under the van, the spare wheel fits around it, wheel has to be the right way around, ie outside of wheel at bottom.
1993 SA VW T25/T3 2.5i Microbus/homebrew camper
1981/1968 Marlin Kitcar TR6 Engine

Omegaman

Post by Omegaman »

Yup, look like it is very bent :shock:

Does anyone know how to remove the carrier so that I can unbend? It appears to be attached at a hinge point but they carrier wires don't seem to want to budge, so before I apply excess pressure, can these be separated here?

Omegaman

Post by Omegaman »