Temperature gauge reading high- t25 petrol 1900

An alchemy of sparks, copper wire and earth

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Mr Muckle
80-90 Mem No: 0

Temperature gauge reading high- t25 petrol 1900

Post by Mr Muckle »

Hi good folk, complete newbie, so please be kind, and feel free to redirect me if I am in the wrong bit. This is my first post. I have a 1984 1900 petrol water cooled. It has just had a reconditioned engine (250 miles ago).

The temperature guage is reading in the upper normal area, about 3/4 of the way up, and sometimes higher (but still in 'normal' zone).

I am driving very gingerly to run it in, I am wondering if this is normal? Previously it was reading much lower, but I have found cracks on the old sensor, so I have changed it (well more accurately Fairbank and Craven, the garage have) as it was probably under reading.

Loving the van, had it 2 years, and overheated blew the head gasket, so put in a recon, and as a result being over protective maybe.

What a pleasure it is to have found such an expensive hobby, to pass time and money on. :) :) :D

937carrera
80-90 Mem No: 16333

Re: Temperature gauge reading high- t25 petrol 1900

Post by 937carrera »

Welcome :)

I guess it's been running "hot" since the rebuild, in which case you should really be taking it back to the garage, especially as I assume it has some sort of warranty.

Have you checked the water levels ?

I don't know them but they seem to be the right type of place. Good opportunity to enhance their reputation :)
1981 RHD 2.0 Aircooled Leisuredrive project, CU engine
1990 RHD 1.9 Auto Sleeper with DF/DG engine

Mr Muckle

Post by Mr Muckle »