Cable Weight / AWG best practice?

An alchemy of sparks, copper wire and earth

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

bmouthboyo
80-90 Mem No: 9396

Cable Weight / AWG best practice?

Post by bmouthboyo »

I am new to auto electrics and so still trying to make sure my understanding is sound before attacking a new leisure system.

I just wanted to check, say I am going to power a 20A rated USB / cigarette socket, the fuse I will use is 20A but what gauge cable should I use? Is there a best practice? i.e 20% higher than fuse etc?

I have found charts that for instance state that at 3 foot and 20A I should use 18 gauge. Does this have the safety margin included so the 20A fuse would go before the wire?

Sorry if this is basic stuff, I just always value input from people in this forum and like to double check.

:ok
1983 Autosleeper Trooper - 1.8 Gti Conversion

syncroandy
Trader
80-90 Mem No: 851

Re: Cable Weight / AWG best practice?

Post by syncroandy »

Here are some numbers lifted from a cable manufacturers spec, for ISO6722 thinwall copper stranded cable. CSA in sq. mm followed by nominal current rating in Amps:

0.5 11
1 16.5
1.5 21
2.5 29
4 39
6 50
10 70
16 110
25 170

BTW, the latest USB spec AFAIK provides for up to 3 amps only, nowhere near 20 amps. However for a dash mounted power socket with a 20A fuse, I would use 1.5mm cable.
Syncrosport
Volkswagen Transporter, reloaded.

252 GC5 EJ25 AAN L90D
246 097 AFN AVL+ L90D
Syncronaut #004

bmouthboyo

Post by bmouthboyo »

Thanks for the advice. So basically a 20amp fuse will go before a 20amp wire? And if I plan to draw say 10 amp with a device I can use 10amp wire? No need to always use say double or 50% more?

marlinowner
80-90 Mem No: 13646

Post by marlinowner »

Its more the voltage drop across the cable, the heavier the cable the lower the voltage drop for a given amperage. With 20A through 1.5sqmm you might drop around 0.2V per metre.