teeth of ring gear are being torn from the torque converter

Big lumps of metals and spanners. Including servicing and fluids.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

werchipper
80-90 Mem No: 0

teeth of ring gear are being torn from the torque converter

Post by werchipper »

Following on from post titled "Starter spins but doesnt engage"

Help needed with a T25 1988 autobox (010), I’ve had the gearbox rebuilt using the std VW overhaul kit and it has worked after overhaul but I seem now to be in the situation where the starter motor is ripping the ring gear off the torque converter. Initially I thought it was the torque converter at fault but this has been repaired and the same thing happened again. I now suspect that even though the gearstick is in neutral or park there is something in the gearbox that is engaging drive so the torque converter is in gear when the starter hits it and therefore ripping ring gear from its spot welds. I’m not a mechanic but I trying to work my way out of this problem, any advice Or anyone had a similar problem ?

I also have a second hand torque converter i will be installing. although i believe it should work as it came from a working van. i am concerned about getting "foreign" bodies in the automatic transmission. Am i being overly cautious?

Russ and Nigel
Attachments
Torque Converter, too rusty?
Torque Converter, too rusty?
tc.jpg (75.67 KiB) Viewed 688 times

R0B
80-90 Mem No: 864

Re: teeth of ring gear are being torn from the torque converter

Post by R0B »

Very few on here have an understanding of the auto box.Have you tried asking on the samba website.The yanks are more likeley to give you an answer, as they use the auto more than we do.
2.1 LPG/Petrol Auto Caravelle

"The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits"

937carrera
80-90 Mem No: 16333

Post by 937carrera »