mechanical advise needed 1983 T25

Big lumps of metals and spanners. Including servicing and fluids.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

SkaterJay
80-90 Mem No: 16818

mechanical advise needed 1983 T25

Post by SkaterJay »

looking for some mechanical advise on my van if possible? i have a T25 1983 1.9 petrol watercooled with a pierburg carb. a few months ago i was driving on the motor way and the van lost power and cut out. i managed to get it home 15 minutes later but it further cut out 2 more times before getting her home. since then in the drive, it would start first time every time but then cut out on idle. it would also shake alittle. sounds like fuel starvation ?or blockage ?

i had by this pointed 'fiddled' around with various bits and was unable to figure out the issue, (im no mechanic :wink: ). iv now had a couple of guys look at it local in stoke and they said its got a miss fire on cylinder 1 and needs a drivers side engine rebuild. they said its also got a missfire (non-mechanical) either dizzy cap, plug, leads etc. they also said its also over fueling and the carb needs to be reset up. they said with parts and labour about 500.

prior to this i have checked the fuel line and all filters, made sure everything is correctly plugged into the right place. idle shut off, etc. im happy to pay the cash to get her running and get a new mot, i may source the parts myself to keep the cost lower and then pay the labour. but really my question is does this sound like it could be the issue ? and im not being conned ?

Jay

itchyfeet
80-90 Mem No: 12733

Re: mechanical advise needed 1983 T25

Post by itchyfeet »

get a compression tester and check it yourself before paying for a top end rebuild.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Gunson-Hi-Ga ... 0759064965" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

need engine hot/warm, all plugs out, screw it in throttle open and 10 turns of starter, that's 10 ner ner s

do all four

8-13 bar 3 bar variation is the spec.