White Smoke...

Big lumps of metals and spanners. Including servicing and fluids.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Ciaraneng
80-90 Mem No: 16696

White Smoke...

Post by Ciaraneng »

Hi all. A T25 and forum newbie here so bear with me. I have had a 1983 High Top with a 1.9 Petrol DG engine for the past 2 months. I have replaced a couple of perished coolant hoses, a thermostat and oil filter but other than a couple of burst hoses and air locks (lots of bleeding) it's been running well....last this weekend. Now when it starts I get a big cloud of white smoke from the exhaust. It seems to clear up after a few hundred yards but I'm pretty concerned it might be a head gasket. The last time I went for a short spin header tank had emptied when I checked but the reservoir was still full. Temperature and power were fine. I refilled the header tank but have not started it since for fear of warping the head.

Is there a way to confirm that it's the head gasket? Is there any other way that coolant could be getting to the exhaust or anything else that could explain the white smoke and the drop in the header tank. I have browsed the forum and it seems that generally white smoke=head gasket. It's not from overfilling the oil.

Any advice would be welcome. Thanks in advance;

Ciaran
1983 High Top 1.9 Petrol Early DG Engine

937carrera
80-90 Mem No: 16333

Re: White Smoke...

Post by 937carrera »

Top the coolant up, spark plugs out and crank her over. Water coming out of the spark plug holes means head gasket, probably.

You won't warp the heads when the engine is cool, most serious risk is hydraulic lock, so if all is dry after the above test you can put the plugs back and start her up again. Keep an eye on the water levels though. Excessive white smoke (more than cold condensation) would also indicate likely HG issue.
1981 RHD 2.0 Aircooled Leisuredrive project, CU engine
1990 RHD 1.9 Auto Sleeper with DF/DG engine

Ciaraneng

Post by Ciaraneng »