How do you jack up the vehicle ??

Big lumps of metals and spanners. Including servicing and fluids.

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

pandkh
80-90 Mem No: 13031

How do you jack up the vehicle ??

Post by pandkh »

Hi

Sorry for the simple question, I'm a beginner and still learning.

Van passed its MOT but with several advisorys one of which was the front anti roll bar bushes. Procured bushes from GSF. Got my jack and axle stand and wheels chocks all ready. Started to jack vehicle up by jacking point, and then realised, "if I've got the jack on the jacking point, how am I going to get the axle stand on the jacking point to hold it up??"

So my question is, if I need to lift the vehicle onto axle stands, where do I jack it from and where do I put the axle stands.??

According to my haynes, I should jack the vehicle up by the front axle cross member, and put axle stands on the jacking points. But i can't see anything that looks like it might be a front axle cross member AND looks strong enough to jack up on.

I was going to jack it up on the inboard suspension wishbone mounting, and then put the axle stands on the jacking points. Would that be OK.

Sorry, I'm sure this seems a very trivial question.
1986 1.9 petrol water-cooled high top

shepster
80-90 Mem No: 1342

Re: How do you jack up the vehicle ??

Post by shepster »

Use jacking point to jack up then put axle stand under cross member.
2.1 DJ running on carb and LPG.

itchyfeet
80-90 Mem No: 12733

Post by itchyfeet »

I jack from the track control arm at the front ( I have the later cast type) and trailing arm at the rear, never tough the jacking points.

It's all pretty strong on a t25, I think the cross member the jacking point is welded to is plenty strong enough, just need a block of wood to bridge the gap, in fact I don't use axle stands I find large blocks of wood more stable.

1988 DG WBX LPG Tin Top
1989 DJ digijet WBX Holdsworth Villa 3 Pop Top
itchylinks

baj25
80-90 Mem No: 12953