Self employed question

This is a general chat forum, you must register to post.

Moderators: Moderators, User administrators

Forum rules
Please remember that this is a family forum - do not post 'adult' content. Full forum rules here.

Self employed question

Postby kevtherev » 06 Jan 2018, 17:56

So I'm self employed.
My tax is stopped at source at 20% (CTS)

I have a spreadsheet of my invoices for income
And one for costs.
Lots of ordered receipts and invoices, other income mileage etc
I have my Gov gateway registration and log in

I'm told the 31st Jan is the last day for tax return.

I need to know the process as it's my first time.
2.1 DJ on pierburg + LPG
kevtherev

80-90 Mem No: 2264

Self employed question

Postby clift_d » 06 Jan 2018, 18:24

Self assessment Is pretty straightforward once you've done the work to bring together your total income / expenses. Just log in to the Self Assessment website and it will guide you through the process step by step. If you stop halfway through then everything you've done so far is saved until you log in again, and HMRC don't pay any attention to what you're doing as you fill it in - it's only when you finally submit your return that they hold you to what you've entered. Any questions just give them a ring - in my experience they're pretty helpful.
1988 LHD T25 1.6TD Westfalia Club Joker syncro
clift_d

80-90 Mem No: 11695

Re: Self employed question

Postby colinthefox » 06 Jan 2018, 18:37

I am self-employed, and was reluctant to change to online, but I found it straightforward.
You can stop and save the forms at any time, then carry on another time.
The forms do have a box for tax deducted at source, so should cope with that OK.
It is advisable not to do it at the last moment though, because towards the end of January things get a bit hectic, and you might wait a while for an answer on the helpline. Also if anything goes wrong with your registration, it may take a few days to sort out.