Tv/sky question

This is a general chat forum, you must register to post.

Moderators: Moderators, User administrators

Forum rules
Please remember that this is a family forum - do not post 'adult' content. Full forum rules here.

Tv/sky question

Postby dbz864 » 13 Dec 2017, 08:47

Hi, I'm about to fit a new television to the wall. Ive got a sky box thing and want to put it somewhere out of view, preferably the other side of the wall that the television is mounted on. I obviously want to use the remote control to operate the sky box, im guessing it won't work as it will be shielded by the wall. Someone told me a while back that you can get a cable with a sensor type thing that from sky box to television that the remote will trigger . Does any body have any knowledge on it, if its possible, im very behind the times on technology. Thanks adam
We should all start to live before we get too old. Fear is stupid. So are regrets.
- Marilyn Monroe
dbz864
Trader
 
Posts: 1032
Joined: 12 Nov 2010, 21:41
Location: crewe cheshire
80-90 Mem No: 12098

Re: Tv/sky question

Postby marlinowner » 13 Dec 2017, 10:45

If you have an android phone (don't know about iphone) and a sky+ box connected to wifi then you can use your phone as a remote via the sky+ app.
1993 SA VW T25/T3 2.5i Microbus/homebrew camper
1981/1968 Marlin Kitcar TR6 Engine
User avatar
marlinowner
 
Posts: 1528
Joined: 28 Jan 2014, 12:02
Location: Scottish Borders
80-90 Mem No: 13646

Re: Tv/sky question

Postby lefty67 » 13 Dec 2017, 17:39

Think you might need something like this Adam.

https://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/MXSLXLINK.html
1.9td AAZ

T25 - an adventure before dementia
lefty67
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: 29 Sep 2012, 12:00
Location: s. cheshire
80-90 Mem No: 11783

Re: Tv/sky question

Postby chewbacca » 15 Dec 2017, 23:11

We have a sky q mini box quite literally throw behind the tv so it's balanced on the tv wall mount. It's pointing at the ceiling. The remote works fine. IR bounces all over the place. :)
B plate 1.9 petrol bus
chewbacca
 
Posts: 299
Joined: 10 Jan 2015, 03:30
Location: Chesterfield (ish)
80-90 Mem No: 16186

Re: Tv/sky question

Postby camperclan » 17 Dec 2017, 13:43

Yes as lefty67 says thats the gizmo you need, follow the instructions remember to switch on the 9V supply on sky box in installer menu and tune in spare analogue channel on tv to pick up the sky box....simples :D
Member No. 1788
camperclan
 
Posts: 748
Joined: 18 Oct 2005, 21:01
Location: West Sussex
80-90 Mem No: 1788


Return to General Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bigherb, jrt, toddylaguna, Zetor and 4 guests